WiMIR Mentoring Round 2020

The fifth round of the WiMIR mentoring program is about to start!

Mentors and mentees have been matched and introduced to each other by the Mentoring Program Committee.  Participants come from 6 continents, Europe, North and South America, Asia, Oceania and Africa.

Thanks everyone for contributing and keeping your commitment! Happy mentoring!

WiMIR mentoring 2020 participants

Mentoring Program Committee

  • Johanna Devaney, Brooklyn College, USA
  • Ryan Groves, Melodrive, Germany
  • Blair Kaneshiro, Stanford University, USA
  • Anja Volk, Utrecht University, Netherlands
  • Eva Zangerle, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • Michael Mandel, Brooklyn College, USA

Mentoring Student Volunteers

  • Yun-Ning Hung, Georgia Tech, USA
  • Arshiya Gupta, University of San Francisco, USA
  • Francesca Ronchini, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain


We thank our generous mentors from Europe, North and South America, and Asia for dedicating their time to this program:

  • Ajay Srinivasamurthy, Amazon.com, Inc, USA
  • Alexander Lerch, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Amruta Vidwans, Pindrop, USA
  • Andrew Demetriou, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Andrew McLeod, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Andy Sarroff, iZotope, USA 
  • Anja Volk, Utrecht University, Netherlands
  • Anne McKinnon, The Boolean, USA
  • Ashis Pati, Georgia Tech, USA
  • Ashley Burgoyne, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Ayinde Alakoye, nēdl, USA
  • Bertrand Scherrer, LANDR Audio Inc., Canada
  • Blair Kaneshiro, Stanford University, USA
  • Brian McFee, New York University, USA
  • Chih-Wei Wu, Netflix, Inc., USA
  • Chris Donahue, Stanford, USA
  • Christine Bauer, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
  • Christopher Tralie, Ursinus College, USA
  • Dan Ellis, Google, USA
  • Delia Fano Yela, Chordify, Netherlands
  • Doğaç Başaran, Audible Magic, USA
  • Douglas Eck, Google, USA
  • Douglas Turnbull, Ithaca College, USA 
  • Elio Quinton, Universal Music Group, USA
  • Emilia Gomez, Joint Research Centre and Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
  • Emilia Parada-Cabaleiro, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
  • Emmanouil Benetos, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom
  • Eric Nichols, Zillow Group, USA
  • Erling Wold, Audible Magic, USA 
  • Fabien Gouyon, Pandora, USA
  • Furkan Yesiler, Music Technology Group, UPF, Spain
  • Gabriel Meseguer Brocal, IRCAM, France
  • Gabriel Vigliensoni, McGill University/Goldsmiths, Canada
  • Gaël Richard, Telecom Paris, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, France
  • Geoffroy Peeters, Telecom Paris, France
  • Helena Cuesta, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
  • Ichiro Fujinaga, McGill University, Canada
  • Ioannis Petros Samiotis, Delft University of Technology (TU Delft), Netherlands
  • Jan Van Balen, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Jin Ha Lee, University of Washington, USA
  • Joe Cheri Ross, Linkedin, USA
  • Johan Pauwels, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom
  • Johanna Devaney, Brooklyn College, USA
  • Jon Gillick, UC Berkeley, USA
  • Jonathan Driedger, Chordify, Netherlands
  • Jordan Smith, Tik Tok, USA
  • Juhan Nam, KAIST/NYU, South Korea/USA
  • Justin Salamon, Adobe, USA
  • Magdalena Fuentes, NYU, USA
  • Makarand Velankar, MKSSS’S Cummins College of Engineering, India
  • Marcelo Caetano, McGill University, Canada
  • Marcelo Queiroz, University of São Paulo, Brazil
  • Marius Miron, European Commission, Spain
  • Mark Cartwright, New York University, USA
  • Matthew Davies, INESC TEC / University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Matthew McCallum, Pandora Media, USA
  • Maximos Kaliakatsos-Papakostas, Athena Research and Innovation Centre, Greece
  • Meinard Mueller, International Audio Laboratories Erlangen, Germany
  • Mi Tian, Spotify, USA
  • Oriol Nieto, Pandora, USA
  • Prem Seetharaman, Northwestern University, USA
  • Rachel Bittner, Spotify, USA
  • Rafael Valle, NVIDIA and UC Berkeley, USA
  • Robin Laney, Open University, United Kingdom
  • Ryan Groves, Arcona, Germany
  • Sebastian Rosenzweig, International Audio Laboratories Erlangen, Germany
  • Sertan Şentürk, Kobalt Music Group, USA 
  • Siddharth Gururani, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • So Yeon Park, Stanford, USA
  • Srikanth Cherla, Moodagent, Denmark
  • Stefan Sullivan, Smule, USA 
  • Tejaswinee Kelkar, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Théis Bazin, Sony CSL Paris, France
  • Tom Collins, University of York, USA
  • Vincent Lostanlen, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, USA
  • Zafar Rafii, Gracenote, USA
  • Zhiyao Duan, University of Rochester, USA 

Our mentors and mentees are coming from all around the world, as you can see from the map. 


They range from university faculty members to industry employees, and represent a diverse field of interests and backgrounds, such as signal processing, machine learning, computer science, information technology, ethnomusicology, computational musicology, music theory, music composition, music perception and cognition, music performance, music and mathematics, neuroscience, library science, music education, multimedia research, sound design and data analytics, among others while exploring new and interesting areas in music research.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s